Glossary: Outer Islands

Term used by some sources to refer to all islands of the Indonesian archipelago other than Java and Madura. Other sources, however, use the term to refer to all islands except Java, Madura, Bali, and Sumatra; still others say except Java and Bali or exclude Java, Madura, and Bali. The term as translated from Dutch--buitengewesten--means outer terroritories or regions while a similar term from Bahasa Indonesia (q.v.)--tanah seberang--means land (or lands) over there, or across the seas. The term is sometimes considered pejorative by those people living on the islands indicated.

All Countries