Where is Pitcairn Islands located?

What countries border Pitcairn Islands?

Pitcairn Islands Facts

What is the capital of Pitcairn Islands?

Capital Adamstown
Government Type parliamentary democracy
Currency New Zealand Dollar (NZD)
Total Area 18 Square Miles
47 Square Kilometers
Location Oceania, islands in the South Pacific Ocean, about midway between Peru and New Zealand
Language English (official), Pitcairnese (mixture of an 18th century English dialect and a Tahitian dialect)
GDP - per capita (PPP) $0.00 (USD)

Pitcairn Islands Demographics

What is the population of Pitcairn Islands?

Ethnic Groups descendants of the Bounty mutineers and their Tahitian wives
Nationality Noun Pitcairn Islander(s)
Population 50
Urban Population 0.000000

Pitcairn Islands Government

What type of government does Pitcairn Islands have?

Executive Branch chief of state: King CHARLES III (since 8 September 2022); represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Iona THOMAS (since 9 August 2022)

head of government: Mayor and Chairman of the Island Council Simon YOUNG (since 1 January 2023)

cabinet: none

elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; governor and commissioner appointed by the monarch; island mayor directly elected by majority popular vote for a 3-year term; election last held on 9 November 2022 (next to be held no later than December 2025)

election results: Simon YOUNG elected mayor and chairman of the Island Council; Island Council vote - NA
Suffrage 18 years of age; universal with three years residency
Citizenship see United Kingdom
National Holiday Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926); Discovery Day (Pitcairn Day), 2 July (1767)
Constitution history: several previous; latest drafted 10 February 2010, presented 17 February 2010, effective 4 March 2010
Independence none (overseas territory of the UK)

Pitcairn Islands Video

CountryReports YouTube Channel:

Join CountryReports YouTube Channel (Click Here)

Pitcairn Islands Geography

What environmental issues does Pitcairn Islands have?

Climate tropical; hot and humid; modified by southeast trade winds; rainy season (November to March)
Environment - Current Issues deforestation (only a small portion of the original forest remains because of burning and clearing for settlement)
Terrain rugged volcanic formation; rocky coastline with cliffs

Pitcairn Islands Economy

How big is the Pitcairn Islands economy?

Economic Overview The inhabitants of this tiny isolated economy exist on fishing, subsistence farming, handicrafts, and postage stamps. The fertile soil of the valleys produces a wide variety of fruits and vegetables, including citrus, sugarcane, watermelons, bananas, yams, and beans. Bartering is an important part of the economy. The major sources of revenue are the sale of postage stamps to collectors and the sale of handicrafts to passing ships.
Industries postage stamps, handicrafts
Currency Name and Code New Zealand Dollar (NZD)

Pitcairn Islands News and Current Events

What current events are happening in Pitcairn Islands?
Source: Google News

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe