How to Enter Marshall Islands

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

Under the Compact of Free Association, if you are a U.S. citizen, you do not need a visa to enter the Marshall Islands. However, there is a departure fee of $20 for individuals over 12 and less than 60 years old. Diplomats are exempt from this fee. Cholera immunizations are required for those arriving from infected areas. Visit the Embassy of the Republic of the Marshall Islands website for the most current visa information.

Special Travel Circumstances in Marshall Islands

Currency: The Republic of the Marshall Islands uses U.S. dollars. The two ATMs on Majuro can be found at the Bank of Guam and at Robert Reimers Resort. A few hotels and restaurants accept Visa, MasterCard, and American Express credit cards. Most transactions are cash only.

Customs: Customs authorities of the Marshall Islands strictly prohibit the importation of firearms, ammunition, explosives, and indecent publications. Certification from the Quarantine Division is required to import animals, plants, and fruits. We advise you to contact the Embassy of the Republic of the Marshall Islands or one of the Marshall Islands' consulates in the United States for specific information regarding customs requirements, especially when dealing with the importation of animals into the Marshall Islands.

Communication: The Marshall Islands relies primarily on radio in the remote outer islands, which causes some communication problems. Local telephone service as well as worldwide international long distance is available on Majuro and Ebeye. The cost for international calls is quite expensive. Internet service is also available and is relatively expensive.

Flights: United Airlines flies once a day through Majuro, six days a week. Flights in and out of the Marshall Islands are three days a week to the west toward Guam, and three days a week east to Honolulu. Although Air Marshall Islands operates within the Marshall Islands, service is not reliable. Be aware that flights and boats to and from outer islands are often cancelled, sometimes leaving visitors stranded for one or more weeks.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe