Bangladesh Travel Information

Travel Alert Status

Level 2: Exercise Increased Caution

Time Difference

UTC+6 (11 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)

Travel Climate

The climate of Bangladesh ranges from subtropical to tropical. The humidity remains high all year and reaches between 90%-95% from June to September. Bangladesh has three main seasons. The mild (70s °F) or cold season, from mid-October to the end of February, is characterized by sunny skies, drier weather, and cool (high 50s °F) evenings. During the hot season, from March until the end of May, there is quite a change. The early part is pleasant (75°F), but as the monsoon approaches, hot (95°F) temperatures and high humidity make life difficult. The monsoon season lasts from June to October. At the beginning of the monsoon, the continuous rains cool the atmosphere. Temperatures are milder (85°F to 90°F), but the humidity can be oppressive.

Tropical cyclones emerge from the Bay of Bengal with high winds and tidal waves on the average of one major cyclone every 3 years. There are two cyclone seasons, one just before the monsoon (May to June) and one just after the monsoon (October to November). Damage generally is limited to the southern finger of the country (east of Chittagong and Cox's Bazaar).

During the monsoon season in a normal year, about 30% of the country is under water. Some years, however, floods cover 70% of the country. At some times during the year, up to 70% of the country is under water. Annual flooding is a way of life but often the flooding is not due to rainfall but caused by water coming from across the borders via the Ganges, Meghna, and the Brahmaputra Rivers.

Travel Currency


Language Spoken

Bangla, the official language, is also spoken in India’s West Bengal. People with a university education usually speak English.


Bangla (official, also known as Bengali), English

Ethnic Groups

Bengali 98%, tribal groups, non-Bengali Muslims

National Holiday

Independence Day, 26 March (1971); Victory Day, 16 December (1971); note - 26 March 1971 is the date of the Awami League's declaration of an independent Bangladesh, and 16 December (Victory Day) memorializes the military victory over Pakistan and the official creation of the state of Bangladesh

Geographic Coordinates

24 00 N, 90 00 E


Southern Asia, bordering the Bay of Bengal, between Burma and India



Bangladesh Weather

Bangladesh Currency Exchange

Bangladesh Travel Video

Are You Happy? Dhaka, Bangladesh
All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe