How To Enter Honduras

Entry/Exit Requirements for U.S. Citizens

If you are a U.S. traveler wishing to enter Honduras, you must present a U.S. passport with at least six months remaining validity. A visa is not required for U.S. citizens, but tourists must provide evidence of return or onward travel. U.S. citizens are encouraged to carry a photocopy of their U.S. passports with them at all times so that if questioned by local officials proof of identity and U.S. citizenship are readily available. In June 2006, Honduras entered the Central America-4 (CA-4) Border Control Agreement with Guatemala, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Under the agreement, citizens of the four countries may travel freely across land borders from one of the countries to any of the others without completing entry and exit formalities at immigration checkpoints. U.S. citizens and other eligible foreign nationals who legally enter any of the four countries may similarly travel among CA-4 countries without obtaining additional visas or tourist entry permits for the other three countries.

Immigration officials at the first port of entry determine the length of stay, up to a maximum of 90 days. Foreign tourists who wish to remain in the CA-4 region beyond the period initially granted for their visit are required to request a one-time extension of stay from local immigration authorities in the country where the traveler is physically present. Alternatively, travelers are allowed to leave Honduras after their initial 90 day permit has expired, enter one of the neighboring countries of the CA-4 region, and then return to Honduras, at which time a new 90 day permit will be provided. Foreigners expelled from any of the four countries are excluded from the entire CA-4 region. In isolated cases, the lack of clarity in the implementing details of the CA-4 Border Control Agreement has caused temporary inconvenience to some travelers and has resulted in others being fined more than $100 or detained for 72 hours or longer.

The Honduran immigration office nearest to the U.S. Embassy in Tegucigalpa has the following location:

Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería

Colonia Las Torres

Calle Principal

Edificio #1404

Comayagüela, DC

Tel.: (504) 2234-1996/1998

To depart Honduras, travelers must clear Honduran Immigration. Travelers by air must return the copy of their immigration document received at entry. Travelers by land or sea must also return the entrance permit they received when entering Honduras. If you are departing via air, you will be charged an airport tax of $39.24. The airport tax must be paid at the airport in cash in either U.S. dollars or lempiras or by credit card. Checks are not accepted. If you stay in Honduras beyond 90 days, a fine may be imposed by Honduran Immigration prior to your departure.

For more information concerning entry and exit requirements, travelers may contact the Honduran consulate at 1014 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20001, telephone (202) 682-5948. The Honduran government also retains an Honorary Consul in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Special Requirements for Minors: Parents should obtain U.S. passports for infants and minors born in the United States and not rely on birth certificates for their child’s travel. Honduran entry and exit control laws require that a child under age 21, traveling either unaccompanied or with one parent only, must have written and notarized permission to travel from the non-traveling parent/s (or legal guardian/s). If the non-traveling parent is the father, he must authorize travel; the law does not delegate this authority to any other male member of the family in his absence.

The Honduran Embassy is located at 3007 Tilden Street NW, Washington, DC 20008. The Honduran Embassy can be contacted by phone at (202) 966-7702. Visit the Embassy of Honduras website for visa information. For tourist information or suggestions, please contact the Honduras Institute of Tourism at (800) 410-9608 (in the United States) or (800) 222-TOUR (8687) (within Honduras only), or visit the Honduras Institute of Tourism website.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe