How to Enter Congo, Republic of the

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

A passport, visa, and evidence of yellow fever vaccination are required for entry. Visitors to the Republic of the Congo should also have a letter of invitation and/or written proof of a hotel reservation for presentation to immigration officials upon arrival. In some cases, invitation letters must be endorsed by local immigration authorities prior to the bearer’s arrival in the country. Possession of a valid visa is often not sufficient for admission to the Congo as immigration requirements are unclear and arbitrarily enforced. Additionally, local law prohibits exiting the country with the local currency, known as the Central African Franc or CFA. Travelers are advised to limit the amount of CFA they travel with to avoid any unnecessary forfeitures upon departure. See Currency under Special Circumstances below for more information. Until January 2010, Congolese embassies and consulates issued unique visas for entry to the Republic of Congo. Visas should be identical regardless of where they are issued; however, some embassies and consulates have not started issuing the new universal visas. The new Congolese visas are a passport-page-sized sticker with a map outline of the Republic of the Congo in the background. If you attempt to enter Congo with one of the old visas, you may be denied entry.

Additional information on entry requirements may be obtained from the Embassy of the Republic of the Congo, 4891 Colorado Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20011, telephone (202) 726-5500, or from the Permanent Mission of the Republic of the Congo to the United Nations, 14 E. 65th St., New York, NY, 10021, telephone (212) 744-7840. Overseas inquiries should be made at the nearest Congolese embassy or consulate.

Special Travel Circumstances in Congo, Republic of the

The Republic of the Congo is primarily a cash economy and uses the Central African Franc (CFA), a common currency used in Gabon, Chad, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, and Equatorial Guinea. U.S. dollars may be exchanged for local currency, but traveler’s checks are generally not accepted and cannot be cashed at local banks. Some hotels in Brazzaville and in Pointe Noire now accept major credit cards, but cash remains the preferred method of payment. Most businesses accept cash only. Personal checks drawn on foreign accounts are not accepted. Western Union has offices in Brazzaville and Pointe Noire. There is one ATM at the Credit du Congo Bank in Brazzaville which accepts foreign debit cards. ATMs at several of Credit du Congo’s branches in Pointe Noire also accept foreign debit cards. CFA are not available outside the CFA zone and there are tight restrictions on travelling with CFA. If you are caught attempting to leave the country in possession of CFA, airport authorities may confiscate all of your local currency. For this reason, the U.S. Embassy recommends that you not travel via air with CFA, even if you are travelling directly to another country in the CFA zone.

Photography: Photography of government facilities or infrastructure is illegal. Taking photos of such places may result in arrest and confiscation of camera equipment.

Customs: Airport police and customs officials routinely inspect incoming and outgoing luggage, even for in-country travel. For a complete list of prohibited items, please contact the nearest Congolese embassy or consulate. Visitors who seek to export arts and crafts at the airports are frequently subject to an export tax and/or solicitations for bribes from customs agents. There have also been repeated instances of travelers being questioned about how much currency they are carrying and expats have been asked to show customs officials how much money they have in their wallets.

Detention: Local security forces, especially traffic police, routinely detain foreigners to solicit bribes. Detention of U.S. citizens, particularly in remote areas, may not always be promptly reported to the U.S. Embassy by Congolese authorities. You are encouraged to carry a copy of your passport and valid visa for the Congo with you at all times so that, if questioned by local officials, proof of identity and U.S. citizenship is readily available. If detained or arrested, U.S. citizens should always ask to be allowed to contact the U.S. Embassy.

Ferry Service to Kinshasa: Commercial ferry service between Brazzaville and Kinshasa normally operates from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Sunday, but the ports may close completely with minimal notice. A special exit permit from the Republic of the Congo’s Immigration Service and a visa for the Democratic Republic of the Congo are required to cross the Congo River from Brazzaville to Kinshasa. Likewise, a visa for the Republic of the Congo is required when arriving by boat in Brazzaville.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe