United States Embassy in Korea, North

Embassy Location:

North Korea does not have an embassy in the United States. U.S. citizens and residents planning to travel to North Korea may obtain DPRK visas at the DPRK Embassy in Beijing, China, which will issue visas only upon authorization from the DPRK Foreign Ministry in Pyongyang.

Before departing for China, you may wish to contact the DPRK Embassy in Beijing to confirm it has received authorization from Pyongyang to issue you a visa.

The Embassy of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea in Beijing

No. 11, Ritan Bei Lu,

Jianguomen Wai,

Chaoyang District

Beijing, China 100600

Telephone: (86-10) 6532-6639 (Visa Office)

Telephone: (86-10) 65312-1186

Facsimile: (86-10) 6532-6056

If you wish to ask the DPRK whether your application for a visa would be approved, you may address your inquiry to the Permanent Representative of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea to the United Nations in New York.

The Permanent Representative of the Democratic

People’s Republic of Korea to the United Nations

820 Second Avenue

New York, NY 10017

Telephone: (212) 972-3105

Facsimile: (212) 972-3154

If you live abroad in a country with diplomatic relations with the DPRK, you could ask the DPRK embassy in that country for visa advice.

The Embassy of Sweden (U.S. Protecting Power):

Swedish Embassy (U.S. Protecting Power)

Munsu-Dong District

Pyongyang, DPRK

Telephone: (850-2) 3817 485 (reception)

Telephone: (850-2) 3817 904, (850-2) 3817 907 (Deputy)

Telephone: (850-2) 3817 908, (850-2) 3817 905 (Ambassador)

Facsimile: (850-2) 3817 663

Email: ambassaden.pyongyang@gov.se

U.S. Embassy Beijing: The Embassy is located near the Ladies' Street (Nuren Jie) and Laitai Flower Market, opposite the Kempinski Hotel and Lufthansa shopping Center.

U.S. Embassy Beijing

American Citizens Services Unit

No. 55 An Jia Lou Road

Chaoyang District

Beijing, China 100600

Telephone: (86-10) 8531-4000

Facsimile: (86-10) 8531-3300

Email: beijingacs@state.gov

Emergency after-hours telephone: (86-10) 8531-4000

U.S. Embassy Seoul: The Embassy is located across the street from Sejong Cultural Center and next to the Ministry of Information and Communication/KT Building.

U. S. Embassy Seoul

American Citizen Services Unit

188 Sejong Daero, Jongno-gu

Seoul, Republic of Korea

Telephone: (82-2) 397-4114

Facsimile: (82-2) 2-397-4101

E-mail: seoulinfo@state.gov

Emergency after-hours telephone: (82-2) 397-4114


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe