Where is Akrotiri located?

What countries border Akrotiri?

Akrotiri Weather

What is the current weather in Akrotiri?

Akrotiri Facts and Culture

What is Akrotiri famous for?

  • Cultural Attributes: Akrotiri, officially known as the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, is a British Overseas Territory located on the... More
  • Family: One should not bring dishonor on the family. Parents strive to provide the young couple with a home, and perhaps... More
  • Personal Apperance: Traditional costumes are worn at folk festivals and special events, including formal visits. Generally, people dress according to occupation, ranging... More
  • Recreation: Recreation activities in Akrotiri, as a military base, aim to provide leisure and entertainment options for military personnel, their families,... More
  • Diet: Greek salad (horiatiki salata) with tomatoes, lettuce, bell peppers, feta cheese, green olives, and local herbs; moussaka, the traditional Greek... More
  • Food and Recipes: Among the items you can expect to be served are: Loukanika, coriander-seasoned sausages, soaked in red wine and smoked; Koupepia,... More
  • Visiting: Visitors often note that Akrotiri seems to be a place where 'everyone knows everyone else, or is related' This familiarity... More
  • Dating: Arranged marriages have largely disappeared, but some parents still exert a strong influence on the choice of spouse. Marriage is... More

Akrotiri Facts

What is the capital of Akrotiri?

Capital Episkopi Cantonment (base administrative center for Akrotiri and Dhekelia)
Currency Euro (EUR)
Total Area 47 Square Miles
123 Square Kilometers
Location Eastern Mediterranean, a peninsula on the southwest coast of Cyprus
GDP - per capita (PPP) $0.00 (USD)

Akrotiri Demographics

What is the population of Akrotiri?

Languages English, Greek
Population - note approximately 18,195 on the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia including 11,000 Cypriots and 7,195 Service and UK-based contract personnel and dependents
Urban Population 0.000000

Akrotiri Government

What type of government does Akrotiri have?

Executive Branch chief of state: King CHARLES III (since 8 September 2022)

previous chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (6 February 1952 - 8 September 2022)

head of government: Administrator Air Vice-Marshal Peter J.M. SQUIRES (since 1 September 2022)

note - administrator reports to the British Ministry of Defense and is also Commander, British Forces Cyprus (BFC); the chief officer, an appointed civilian, is responsible for the day-to-day running of the civil government of the Sovereign Base Areas

elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; administrator appointed by the monarch on the advice of the Ministry of Defense
Constitution history: presented 3 August 1960, effective 16 August 1960 (The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia Order in Council 1960 serves as a basic legal document)

amendments: amended 1966

Akrotiri Video

CountryReports YouTube Channel:

Join CountryReports YouTube Channel (Click Here)

Akrotiri Geography

What environmental issues does Akrotiri have?

Climate Temperate; Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters
Environment - Current Issues Shooting around the salt lake; note - a breeding place for loggerhead and green turtles; the only remaining colony of griffon vultures is on the base.

Akrotiri Economy

How big is the Akrotiri economy?

Economic Overview Economic activity is limited to providing services to the military and their families located in Akrotiri. All food and manufactured goods must be imported.
Currency Name and Code Euro (EUR)

Akrotiri News and Current Events

What current events are happening in Akrotiri?
Source: Google News

Akrotiri Travel Information

What makes Akrotiri a unique country to travel to?


English, Greek

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe