What do people eat in Tunisia?


The diet of people in Tunisia is diverse and influenced by the country's rich history and cultural heritage. Tunisian cuisine is a blend of Arabic, Berber, Mediterranean, and French influences, which creates a unique and flavorful cuisine.

The staple food in Tunisia is bread, which is eaten with almost every meal. The most popular bread is called khobz, which is a round, flat bread that is similar to pita bread. Couscous is another staple food in Tunisia and is usually served with meat or vegetable stews.

Meat dishes are popular in Tunisia, with lamb, beef, and chicken being the most commonly consumed meats. Seafood is also a popular choice, especially along the coastal areas of the country. Harissa is a spicy chili paste that is used in many Tunisian dishes, and is often served alongside grilled meats or mixed with olive oil and used as a dipping sauce.

Vegetables and legumes are also an important part of the Tunisian diet, with dishes like brik, a fried pastry stuffed with egg, tuna, and harissa, and tajine, a stew made with chickpeas, vegetables, and spices.

In terms of beverages, tea is the most popular drink in Tunisia and is usually served with mint and sugar. Coffee is also popular, especially Turkish-style coffee, which is strong and sweet. Fresh juices made from oranges, pomegranates, and other fruits are also common.


Couscous is the most popular dish. Another popular dish is shish kebabs. Chakachoukaia is a popular salad made from tomatoes, onions, peppers, and hard-boiled eggs. Tunisians cook a variety of stews called tagines. The Islamic religious code forbids pork and alcohol.

Back to Tunisia Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe