What do people eat in Tokelau?


The traditional Tokelauan diet is based on locally grown and harvested foods, with a focus on fresh seafood, coconut, and breadfruit. Due to the island's remote location, imported foods are limited and expensive, so the traditional diet is primarily based on locally sourced ingredients.

Fish is a staple in the Tokelauan diet, with various species of reef fish being commonly consumed. Some of the most popular fish include tuna, mahi-mahi, and snapper. Fish is often eaten raw or grilled, and is often served with coconut milk and root vegetables such as taro and yam.

Coconut is another important ingredient in the Tokelauan diet, with both the flesh and milk being used in cooking. Coconut flesh is grated and used in a variety of dishes, including desserts and breads. Coconut milk is also used in soups, stews, and curries.

Breadfruit is another staple in the Tokelauan diet, and is often used as a substitute for rice or potatoes. The fruit is cooked and mashed into a starchy paste, and can be served with fish or coconut milk.

In addition to fish, coconut, and breadfruit, other commonly consumed foods in Tokelau include root vegetables such as taro and yam, fresh fruit such as papaya and banana, and leafy greens such as taro leaves and watercress.


Mealtime in Tokelauan culture is often a communal and social affair, with family and friends gathering together to share food and conversation.

Traditionally, meals in Tokelau were prepared and served in a communal manner, with everyone sharing from a large bowl or platter. This practice is still common in many households, and it reflects the importance of community and sharing in Tokelauan culture.

In addition, there are certain customs and practices that are observed during mealtime in Tokelau. For example, it is customary to wash one's hands before eating and to offer food to others before serving oneself. It is also important to avoid wasting food, as it is seen as disrespectful to the effort that went into preparing the meal.

Back to Tokelau Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe