Thailand Recipe


Miang Kham


Main Dish


1 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup diced red onion

1/2 cup diced lime

1/2 cup peanuts

1/2 cup dried shrimp

50 to 70 shaploo leaves (or lettuce or spinach leaves)

1 tablespoon hot green pepper (optional)

1/2 cup sliced lemon grass (optional)

Shrimp paste

2/3 cup coconut sugar


1. Heat the sugar until it is well-melted syrup, then add the shrimp paste, and stir it while it is boiling or it will be burned; taste if it needs some sugar or shrimp. The right taste should be between sweet and salty.

2. Instruction for preparing the shredded coconut: Buy a whole coconut from any food market. Break its shell and take the white part out. Wash it thoroughly. Make sure it is fresh. Then shred it (without peeling the brown skin that attaches the white part to the shell) into 1 by 1-millimeter shreds. Put the shredded coconut in a hot pan and stir it until it is all brown. It should take about 20 minutes with medium heat.

3. Arrange all the ingredients in a compartment dish (if any, otherwise put each ingredient in a cup). Each guest will sit around preparing his/her own bite. If Shaploo leaves are not available, lettuce or spinach could be substituted. Each person takes some of each ingredient and puts them on the leaf, drops about half a teaspoon of the sauce on them; wraps the leave, and takes it. The combination of taste and smell is the rule of the game! One can leave anything out if one doesn't like it, but make sure the lemon slice is taken.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe