Thailand History

Back to Expanded History

Domestic air service was furnished by Thai Airways Company (TAC), a government-owned entity established in 1951. There were some 130 airfields of all categories throughout the provinces, 104 of which were in usable condition, in addition to the major airport at Bangkok. In the early 1980s, service was provided to about twenty airports. In addition to domestic service, TAC also flew to Penang in Malaysia, Vientiane in Laos, and Hanoi in Vietnam. The principal Thai-flag international service was provided by Thai Airways International (THAI), founded in 1959 by TAC jointly with the Scandinavian Airlines System (SAS); TAC held 70 percent of the shares and SAS 30 percent. THAI’s routes included flights to Asia, the Middle East, Europe, North America, and Australia. Approximately thirty international airlines flew into Thailand. Both TAC and THAI had greatly expanded and upgraded their fleets by the mid-1980s. In 1985 THAI placed orders with the European aircraft manufacturing consortium Airbus Industrie for four A300-600 medium-range jumbo jets, making the airline the third largest Airbus user in the world, with sixteen airplanes. Also in 1985, THAI ordered two more Boeing 747s, making a total of eight, for use on its long-distance routes to Europe, North America, and Australia. In 1987 Prime Minister Prem Tinsulanonda approved the proposed merger of THAI and TAC, which was expected to be carried out by 1989.

The principal international airport was Don Muang outside Bangkok. The airport had long been Southeast Asia’s main air traffic center for flights between Asia and Europe (although at the beginning of the 1980s it was experiencing strong competition from Singapore). The airport was used jointly by civilian airlines and the Royal Thai Air Force, resulting in growing congestion as international flights increased. During the mid-1970s, consideration was given to building a new civilian airport, but in 1978 a decision was made to move some military operations to other airports. A two-year expansion program for Don Muang was then initiated, and a new state enterprise, the Airport Authority of Thailand (AAT), was legislated and took over administration of the airport in July 1979. In 1979 the airport at Chiang Mai was upgraded to become an international airport. In 1985 THAI opened a new cargo terminal at Don Muang International Airport as part of its plan to expand its cargo business. That same year a new wide-body aircraft maintenance center was inaugurated at Don Muang as a bid to make Bangkok a regional service center for Airbus and Boeing planes.

Back to Thailand History

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe