Thailand Holidays and Events

Songkran Also known as the Thai New Year, Songkran is celebrated in mid-April and is one of the biggest festivals in Thailand. It involves throwing water on each other to wash away bad luck and symbolize renewal, as well as visiting temples, making offerings, and participating in parades and cultural events.
Phi Ta Khon Known as the Ghost Festival, Phi Ta Khon is a unique three-day festival celebrated in the town of Dan Sai in northeastern Thailand. The festival features colorful masks and costumes, parades, music, and dancing, and is believed to bring good luck and ward off evil spirits.
Vegetarian Festival A 10-day festival celebrated by Thai-Chinese communities in various parts of Thailand, including Bangkok and Phuket. Participants abstain from eating meat and other animal products and engage in purifying rituals, such as walking on hot coals or piercing their cheeks with sharp objects, to demonstrate their devotion and cleanse their bodies.
Elephant Festival Festival is celebrated in Surin province in northeastern Thailand and honors the importance of elephants in Thai culture and history. The festival features elephant parades, demonstrations of traditional elephant training and handling techniques, and cultural performances.
Loy Krathong This festival is celebrated on the full moon night of the 12th lunar month (usually in November) and involves floating decorated krathongs (small baskets made of banana leaves) on rivers and waterways to pay respect to the water spirits and seek forgiveness for past wrongdoings.
Birthday of King Phumiphon National holiday celebrates the coronation of King Bhumibol Adulyadej, who ruled Thailand for over 70 years before his death in 2016. The day is marked with ceremonies, parades, and the lighting of candles and incense.
December 5th

Back to Thailand Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe