What do people eat in Switzerland?


Cooking in Switzerland reflects the country's various ethnic traditions. For example, fondue and raclette (melted cheese dishes) come from the French part of Switzerland. Sausages, roasts, and rösti (fried potatoes) originated in the German regions. Foods such as bündnerfleisch (sliced air-dried beef) come from the Graubünden region. In the southern regions, traditional Italian dishes are common. Most cantons have their own special dishes.

Switzerland is famous for its dairy products, such as milk, yogurt, butter, and cheese. Gruyere and Emmenthal are the best-known types of cheese. Sausages are popular, and many different varieties are available in butcher's shops. Veal and pork chops are also widely enjoyed. Zurcher Geschnetzeltes is a popular veal dish. Many people also want fish from Switzerland's lakes. Favorite sweets include sugar buns and spiced honey cakes, basler läckerli (gingerbread), zuger kirschtorte (layer cake), as well as the world-famous Swiss chocolate.

A typical Swiss breakfast consists of bread, butter, marmalade, or honey, perhaps some cheese or cereal, with milk, tea, coffee, or hot chocolate. Most Swiss have a small lunch with soup or a sandwich, although some families eat a complete meal at midday. Another typical midday meal is bircher müesli (a mixture of grains and yogurt). The evening meal may be a full dinner or a simple supper of bread, cheese, and cold cuts.

There are many places to eat out in Switzerland, from fast food restaurants to family restaurants to gourmet establishments, including Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, and Mexican restaurants.


Eating customs and traditions commonly observed in Switzerland:

Punctuality: Swiss people tend to be punctual when it comes to meal times. Lunch is typically eaten around noon (12:00-13:00), and dinner is usually served between 18:00 and 19:00. It's considered polite to arrive on time for a meal invitation.

Table Etiquette: Swiss table manners are generally formal and follow European dining etiquette. Some common practices include keeping your hands visible on the table (but not your elbows), using utensils properly, and waiting for the host to start eating before you begin.

Fondue: Fondue is a popular Swiss dish where melted cheese is served in a communal pot. People dip bread cubes into the cheese using long forks. Fondue is often enjoyed in a social setting, where friends or family gather around the pot and share the meal.

Raclette: Raclette is another traditional Swiss dish. It involves melting a special cheese and scraping off the melted part onto boiled potatoes, pickles, onions, and other accompaniments. Raclette is often enjoyed during social gatherings or at restaurants.

Chocolate: Switzerland is renowned for its high-quality chocolate. Swiss chocolate is widely enjoyed, and it's not uncommon for people to have a piece of chocolate as a dessert or indulge in a chocolate treat during the day.

Bread and Pastries: Bread is a staple in the Swiss diet, and different regions have their own unique bread varieties. Swiss bakeries offer a wide range of pastries, including croissants, pretzels, and sweet treats like Swiss rolls and nut-filled Nusstorte.

Coffee Culture: Swiss people appreciate their coffee, and coffee houses and cafés are popular meeting places. It's common to have a cup of coffee or espresso after a meal, and Swiss cafés often serve a selection of pastries to accompany the coffee.

Cheese: Switzerland is famous for its variety of cheeses, such as Emmental, Gruyère, and Appenzeller. Cheese plays a significant role in Swiss cuisine, and it's often incorporated into dishes like cheese fondues, raclette, and traditional cheese platters.

Back to Switzerland Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe