How to Enter Suriname

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

On November 25, 2011, the Government of Suriname introduced a “Tourist Card” in addition to the existing visa types. The “Tourist Card” allows U.S. passport holders one entry to the Republic of Suriname for tourist purposes. The “Tourist Card” costs $25.00 (U.S.) and can be purchased at the port of entry in Suriname (Johan Adolf Pengel International Airport). The traveler must present a passport valid for at least six months and a return ticket. The validity of the “Tourist Card” is 90 days starting from the date of entry.

For purposes other than tourism, a U.S. citizen must have a valid U.S. passport, valid Surinamese visa and, if traveling by air, a return ticket. Visas must be obtained prior to arrival in Suriname. A business visa requires a letter from the sponsoring company detailing the reason for the visit. An airport departure charge and a terminal fee are normally included in the price of airfare. Travelers arriving from Guyana, French Guiana, and Brazil are required to show proof of a yellow fever vaccination. For further information, you may contact the Embassy of the Republic of Suriname, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 460, Washington, D.C. 20008, telephone (202) 244-7488/7592, or the Consulate of Suriname in Miami, 6303 Blue Lagoon Drive, Suite 325, Miami, Fl 33126, telephone (305) 265-4655/4918. Visit the Embassy of Suriname website for the most current visa information.

Important information for travelers who have the intention of staying longer than three months: As of October 1, 2008, persons who intend to stay longer than three months must apply for an Authorization for Temporary Stay (MVK) before traveling to Suriname. The above implies that travelers (with the exception of those of Surinamese origin) who have traveled to Suriname on a tourist or business visa will not be able to apply for residence during their stay in Suriname. For more information on applying for a temporary stay in Suriname, please visit the Embassy of Suriname website.

Special Travel Circumstances in Suriname

Credit cards are not widely accepted outside the major hotels and upscale restaurants. You should contact your intended hotel or tour company to confirm that credit cards are accepted. Currently, only one bank, the Royal Bank of Trinidad and Tobago (RBTT), has Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs) that accept foreign ATM cards. In order to withdraw money from the ATM machines of other banks, you must have a local Surinamese bank account and ATM card. You can legally exchange currency at banks, hotels, and official exchange houses, which are called “cambios.” Exchanging money outside of these locations is illegal and can be dangerous. Telephone and internet service within Suriname can be problematic, especially during periods of heavy rains.

Travel in the interior: The interior of the country is largely unpoliced, and emergency services are generally not available. Although Suriname has three cellular networks, Telesur, Digicel, and Uniqa, there is no reliable cellular phone reception in much of the interior. There may be areas where only one network has reception, while other areas are covered by other networks.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe