How to Enter Slovenia

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

Information on visa and other entry requirements for Slovenia is available from the Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia at 2410 California Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20008, tel. (202) 386-6601, email:, website: or the Consulate General in Cleveland, Ohio, tel. (216) 589-9220, email: Visit the website of Slovenia’s national tourist office for additional travel-related information.

Slovenia is a party to the Schengen Agreement. This means that U.S. citizens may enter and remain in the Schengen Zone, including Slovenia, without a visa for up to 90 days for tourist or business purposes within a six-month period. To enter Slovenia, your passport must be valid for three months beyond your scheduled departure from the country; you may also be required to show that you have sufficient funds and a return airline ticket out of the Schengen Zone. For additional details about travel into and within Schengen countries, please see our Schengen fact sheet.

If you want to remain in Slovenia longer than 90 days within a six month period, you will need to either apply for a visa prior to entering the Schengen Zone or apply for temporary residency prior to entering Slovenia. The temporary residency permit will be issued to the applicant at the Slovene Embassy at which the application was submitted. The process of applying for residency can be quite time consuming and among other documentation requirements, U.S. citizens must submit a FBI criminal records certificate that has been apostilled by the Department of State’s Office of Authentications. Please see the U.S. Embassy’s website for details on obtaining a residence permit and criminal records check. Individuals who remain in Slovenia and the Schengen Zone beyond 90 days without a residency permit may face fines, deportation, and/or criminal charges.

Note: Although European Union (EU) regulations require that non-EU visitors obtain a stamp in their passport upon initial entry to a Schengen country, many borders are not staffed with officers carrying out this function. If you, as a U.S. citizen, wish to ensure that your entry is properly documented, you may need to ask for a stamp at an official point of entry. Under local law, travelers without a stamp in their passport may be questioned and asked to document the length of their stay in the Schengen Zone and could face possible fines or other repercussions, if unable to do so.

All foreigners in Slovenia must carry official identification at all times; for U.S. citizens, this means either your Slovene residence card or your U.S. passport. All non-EU citizens staying longer than three days in Slovenia must register with the local police within 72 hours of arrival and inform the local police station of any change in their address. If you are staying at a hotel or an apartment/house rented through a company, the management will handle the registration on your behalf. Visitors who are staying with family members or friends or who are camping must complete the registration themselves. Registration is available 24 hours a day at police stations and is free of charge. Failure to register can result in fines up to 400 Euros.

Special Travel Circumstances in Slovenia

Traveler’s checks are not universally accepted in Slovenia. ATMs are prevalent in all major cities and are increasingly common in rural areas and credit cards are widely accepted.

Slovenia’s authorities enforce strict regulations concerning the importation, exportation and use of firearms. You should contact the Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia in Washington DC or the Consulate General in Cleveland if you are planning to transport a firearm into or out of Slovenia.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe