How to Enter Sao Tome and Principe

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

A passport and visa, or authorization to enter, are required. Proof of yellow fever vaccination is required for entry. A visa or authorization to enter must be obtained in advance, as airport visas are not available. You may apply online for an authorization to enter at the eVisaST website. Be aware that previous applicants have experienced some technical difficulties with this website, but this is currently the only way to obtain a visa to enter São Tomé and Príncipe. You must receive the authorization to enter by email, print it out, and take it with you to the airport. São Tomé and Príncipe does not currently maintain an embassy in the United States. Travelers transiting Gabon can obtain visas and the latest information on entry requirements from the Embassy of São Tomé and Príncipe in Gabon, B.P. 49, Libreville, Gabon, telephone 241-72-15-27, fax 241-72-15-28.

Special Travel Circumstances in Sao Tome and Principe

Language: Portuguese is the official language of São Tomé and Príncipe; travelers who do not speak Portuguese may face communication difficulties associated with the language barrier.

Identification: You should always carry identification in the event you are stopped by police.

Photography: Taking photographs of the Presidential Palace, military, or other government buildings is strictly forbidden.

Currency: Visitors are limited to 10,000 Euros of cash on hand when entering or exiting the country. Currency exceeding this amount requires permission from the Central Bank of São Tomé and Príncipe. Letters of justification should be presented to the Central Bank from a credible financial institution located outside the country.

Airlines: Airline service to São Tomé and Príncipe is limited. There are currently two flights from Lisbon, Portugal - TAP Air on Fridays and STP Airways on Saturdays. Regionally, Ceiba Airline has service on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from Libreville, Gabon and Malabo, Equatorial Guinea. African Connection flies between São Tomé and Príncipe islands four times a week and also has charter flights.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe