Qatar National Anthem

Listen to National Anthem


Anthem History

The national Anthem of the State of Qatar was adopted with dawning of a new era when H.H. the Emir Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani assumed the reign of power. It was performed for the first time on Saturday 7th 1996 during the reception of GCC leaders on the occasion of the 17th GCC summit held in Doha.

The Anthem starts by an oath: In the name of Allah, who elevated the sky and spread the light, Qatar shall always remain free, honorable and dignified with its glories hovering high by the spirit of the sincere and faithful.

The first part of the Anthem urges citizens of Qatar to remain committed to tread the path of their forefathers, who were honorable, respectable, knowledgeable, religious, empowered by wisdom and vision, and to follow the guidance of the prophets and their preaching about righteousness, good deads and beauty. In the hearts of Qataris, Qatar is a story of nobility and glory that no one can deny and deface.

In the second and last part, the Anthem affirms that the Qatari men of today are defenders of its land and dignity, they are descendents of the ancestors who defended it in the past and registered glorious annals of history in words that shine.

Like their forefathers, they are pioneers in all fields, they are doves in peace times, and hawks of the day of combat. The Anthem closes by reaffirming that Qatar will remain free, dignified, glorious and noble hovering high by the souls of the faithful and sincere.

Anthem Lyrics English

Swearing by God who erected the sky

Swearing by God who spread the light

Qatar will always be free

Sublimed by the souls of the sinceres

Procede thou on the manners of the ascendants

And advance on Prophet's guidance

In my heart,

Qatar is an epic of glory and dignity

Qatar is land of the early men

Who protect us at time of distress,

Doves they can be at times of peace,

Warriors they are at times of sacrifice

Qatar Flag

Qatar Flag

Flag History The local red dyes used in making flags darken when exposed to the sun, so the red was officially changed to maroon in 1948.
Flag Date of Adoption 9 July 1971
Flag Symbolism maroon with a broad white serrated band (nine white points) on the hoist side

Back to Qatar History

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe