How to Enter Poland

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

You may enter Poland for up to 90 days for tourist or business purposes without a visa according to the Schengen Agreement, to which Poland is a party and which allows for free travel between Schengen countries. Your passport should be valid for at least three months beyond the period of stay. You must have sufficient funds and a return airline ticket.

Although European Union regulations require that non-European Union visitors obtain a stamp in their passport upon initial entry into a Schengen country, many borders are not staffed with officers to carry out this function. If you wish to ensure that your entry is properly documented, you may need to request a stamp at an official point of entry. Under local law, travelers without a stamp in their passport may be questioned and asked to document the length of their stay in Schengen countries at the time of departure or at any point during their visit, and could face possible fines or other repercussions if unable to do so.

You will need a visa for longer stays or to work or study in Poland. In such cases, you should apply for a visa at least 3-4 months in advance of traveling to Poland. Visit the website of the Polish Embassy in Washington for the most current information on applying for a Polish visa.

When visiting Poland please refer to the Embassy of Poland website for information on medical and financial requirements needed for entry. If you don't have adequate financial resources, you may be denied entry to Poland. You should carry proof of sufficient medical insurance in case of an accident or hospitalization while in Poland. Medicare does not cover health costs incurred while abroad. For more information, please see the Medical Information for Americans Abroad website.

Similar to U.S. laws that require U.S. citizens to enter and exit on a valid U.S. passport , Poland also requires Polish citizens (including dual U.S. citizens or those with claims to Polish citizenship) to enter and depart Poland using a Polish passport. If you are a U.S. citizen and also a Polish citizen, or if you are unsure if you hold Polish citizenship, you should contact the nearest Polish consular office for further information.

For further information on entry requirements and current visa information, please contact the consular section of the Embassy of the Republic of Poland, 2224 Wyoming Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20008, telephone (202) 234-3800, or the Polish consulates in Chicago, Los Angeles, or New York.

Special Travel Circumstances in Poland

If you import more than 10,000 Euros cash equivalent (currency, traveler's checks, and other cash instruments) as part of the arrival process, you must complete a form to declare it. You should have this form stamped by Polish customs and retain it for presentation on departure. Undeclared cash may be confiscated upon departure and you may also be prosecuted for carrying undeclared cash. Most banks now cash traveler's checks, ATMs are readily available, and credit cards are widely accepted. Polish customs authorities may enforce strict regulations concerning the export of items, such as works of art. Works created more than 50 years ago or considered to be of high cultural or material value may be legally exported only with permission from the Provincial Conservator of Relics, even if you imported it only temporarily (e.g., for an exhibit or performance). You should declare the item to customs upon entry and carry proof of ownership in order to avoid problems on departure. Contact the Polish Embassy in Washington, D.C., or one of the Polish consulates in the United States for specific information regarding customs requirements.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe