What do people eat in Paraguay?


The diet in Paraguay typically includes a variety of meats, grains, and vegetables.

Meats: Beef, chicken, and pork are commonly consumed in Paraguay. Grilled meats, such as asado (barbecue), are popular, as well as dishes like milanesa (breaded and fried meat cutlets).

Mandio: Mandio is a staple food in Paraguay. It's made from cassava (yuca) root and often accompanies many meals. It's often served boiled, mashed, or fried.

Corn is another staple ingredient used in various dishes. Sopa paraguaya, a type of cornbread made with cornmeal, cheese, and onions, is a popular dish.

Rice: Rice is commonly served alongside meat dishes or used as a base for stews and other dishes.

Vegetables: A variety of vegetables are consumed in Paraguay, including tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, and squash. These are often used in salads, stews, and side dishes.

Mandi'o chyryry: Mandi'o chyryry is a traditional Paraguayan soup made with meat, vegetables, and mandio (cassava). It's hearty and flavorful, often enjoyed as a comforting meal.

Empanadas: Empanadas are a popular snack or appetizer in Paraguay. They are typically filled with meat, cheese, or a combination of both and baked or fried.

Chipa: Chipa is cheese bread made from cassava flour, cheese, eggs, and sometimes lard. It's often consumed as a snack or breakfast item.

Tereré: Tereré is a traditional Paraguayan cold drink similar to mate but prepared with cold water instead of hot. Steeping yerba mate makes its leaves in cold water and is often flavored with herbs or citrus fruits.

Fruits: Paraguay is known for its variety of tropical fruits, including mangoes, bananas, papayas, and citrus fruits. These are often eaten fresh or used in desserts and juices.


The national dish is sopa paraguaya which is a corn bread with cheese and onions. Maise (corn) and cassava are a staple at most meals. Parrillada, grilled meat is a popular item at restaurants.

Popular Paraguay Recipes

Back to Paraguay Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe