How to Enter Nigeria

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

A valid passport and visa are required. You should obtain your Nigerian visa in advance from a Nigerian embassy or consulate. In most cases, you cannot obtain visas upon arrival at the airport. Promises of entry into Nigeria without a visa are strong indicators of fraudulent commercial schemes in which the perpetrators seek to exploit your illegal presence in Nigeria through threats of extortion or bodily harm. Moreover, you cannot legally depart Nigeria unless you can prove, by presenting your entry visa, that you entered Nigeria legally. A yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for travelers over one year of age arriving within six days from infected areas. Visit the Embassy of Nigeria web site for the most current visa and entry information.

Special Travel Circumstances in Nigeria

While some countries will automatically notify the nearest U.S. embassy or consulate if a U.S. citizen is detained or arrested in a foreign country, that might not always be the case in Nigeria. To ensure that the United States is aware of your circumstances, request that the police and prison officials notify the nearest U.S. embassy or consulate as soon as you are arrested or detained overseas.

The Nigerian currency, the Naira, is non-convertible. While U.S. dollars may easily be exchanged at major hotels, banks, and foreign exchange offices, visitors should expect to pay most bills using the local currency. Nigeria is mainly a cash economy, and it is usually necessary to carry sufficient currency to cover the expenses of a planned visit, which makes travelers an attractive target for criminals. Credit cards are rarely accepted at businesses, except for a few upscale hotels. Due to credit card fraud in Nigeria and by cohorts in the United States, credit card use should be considered carefully. While Citibank cashes some traveler’s checks, most other banks do not. American Express does not have offices in Nigeria; however, Thomas Cook does. Inter-bank transfers are often difficult to accomplish, though money transfer services such as Western Union and MoneyGram are available, but only for transfers from abroad to Nigeria.

Visitors to Nigeria should avoid taking still photographs or videotaping in and around areas that are potentially restricted sites, including all government sites. Permission is required to videotape or take photographs of any government buildings, airports, bridges, and throughout the country in areas where the military is operating. These sites include, but are not limited to, federal buildings in the Three Arms Zone of Abuja (Presidential Palace area, National Assembly, Supreme Court/Judiciary), other government buildings, and foreign embassies and consulates. Many restricted sites are not clearly marked, and these restrictions are subject to interpretation by the Nigerian security services. Violations can result in detention. In the past, U.S. citizens, including U.S. government officials, have been detained by Nigerian authorities for several hours for taking photographs in Abuja around these sites. Permission may be obtained from Nigeria's State Security Services, but even permission may not prevent the imposition of penalties or detention by other security officials. Penalties for unauthorized photography or videography may include confiscation of the still or video camera, exposure of the film or deletion of digital footage, a demand for payment of a fine or bribe, and/or detention, arrest, or physical assault.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe