How to Enter Netherlands

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

The Netherlands is a party to the Schengen Agreement. As such, you may enter the Netherlands for up to 90 days for tourist or business purposes without a visa. The 90-day period begins when you enter any of the Schengen group of countries. If you are traveling for any other purpose, or if you intend to stay longer than 90 days, you should inquire about the appropriate visa at the Dutch Embassy or a Dutch Consulate in the United States. Your passport should be valid for at least three months beyond the period of stay. For further details about travel into and within Schengen countries, please see our Schengen fact sheet.

For further information, contact the Embassy of the Netherlands at 4200 Linnean Avenue NW, Washington, DC, 20008, one of the Dutch consulates in Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, or Miami, or one of the various honorary Dutch consulates throughout the United States. Additional information is available on the Dutch Board of Tourism and Conventions website. Visit the Embassy of the Netherlands' website for the most current visa information. Information on work, residency, and immigration requirements in the Netherlands can be found on the website of the Dutch Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Special Travel Circumstances in Netherlands

In recent years, U.S. citizens in the Netherlands have suffered death and injuries stemming from the use of marijuana, hashish, and other substances. Marijuana is a controlled substance in the Netherlands, and possession is a misdemeanor that can result in a fine. Historically, use of illegal substances has been tolerated when bought at licensed “coffee shops.” A new Dutch law, meant to prevent foreigners’ access to “coffee shops” and hence reduce drug tourism, was implemented in three southern provinces beginning in May 2012, and will be implemented nationwide in 2013. The law required the use of a “special pass,” available only to Dutch nationals, to access “coffee shops.” This law was later amended to allow local jurisdictions to develop their own enforcement plans and implementation time lines to prevent foreigner use of “coffee shops.”

”Coffee shops” are a haven for petty criminals who prey on tourists and other individuals under the influence of drugs. Persons who visit “coffee shops” have become victims of pickpocketing, identity theft, sexual assault, and other crimes. Visitors are warned that marijuana sold in the Netherlands may contain higher levels of THC, the active chemical in marijuana, which may exacerbate the drug’s effects and a user’s impairment. The U.S. Surgeon General has issued a warning against marijuana use. “Coffee shops” and other locations are known for selling other illegal substances, such as psychotropic mushrooms; visitors are cautioned against using such drugs, as they are dangerous. It is illegal to take any controlled substance, such as marijuana, into or out of the Netherlands.

The Netherlands instituted a comprehensive indoor smoking ban in July 2008. The ban includes all cafes, pubs, clubs, theatres, coffee shops, restaurants, hotels, airports, shopping malls, amusement centers, etc. Smoking is only allowed in private homes, in the open air, and in designated smoking areas.

Dutch customs authorities stringently enforce regulations concerning importation into the Netherlands of items such as firearms and other controlled materials. Contact the Embassy of the Netherlands in Washington, D.C. or one of the Dutch consulates in Chicago, Miami, San Francisco, or New York for specific information regarding customs requirements. Aerosol self-defense sprays, such as mace or pepper spray, are illegal to own and/or possess in the Netherlands.

You must carry identification at all times in the Netherlands if you are age 14 or older. Accepted forms of identification for U.S. citizens include a U.S. passport or a Dutch residence card issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A copy of a U.S. passport is not sufficient under Dutch law.

Dutch authorities may require U.S. citizens who apply for or obtain Dutch nationality to renounce their U.S. citizenship. For further information, visit the Dutch immigration and naturalization authority website and the U.S. Consulate General website.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe