How to Enter Montenegro

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

U.S. citizens with tourist, official, or diplomatic passports do not need a visa to enter and stay in Montenegro for up to 90 days. However, you must register within the first 24 hours of your stay. If you are staying in a hotel or tourist facility, the hotel will automatically register you; otherwise you are personally responsible to appear at the police station to do so. If you do not, you may be subject to a fine, incarceration, and/or expulsion. Visitors who fail to register sometimes face difficulties in departing the country. The form for registering with the police can be purchased at bookstores and is also available online.

U.S. citizens wishing to extend their stay longer than 90 days must apply for a temporary residence permit no later than one week before the 90-day period expires. Given the length of time needed for administrative procedures, we advise you to apply as soon as you learn that you will be staying in Montenegro longer than 90 days. This rule applies to bearers of all types of U.S. passports – tourist, official, or diplomatic.

You can contact the Embassy of Montenegro in Washington, DC for the most current visa information. The Embassy of Montenegro is located at 1610 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20009; telephone (202) 234-6108; fax: (202) 234-6109; The Consulate General of Montenegro in New York is located at 801 2nd Avenue, New York, NY 10017; telephone (212) 661-5400; fax: (212) 661-5466; Montenegro’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs website contains additional contact information for its diplomatic posts in the United States.

Travelers are required to declare currency exceeding 2,000 Euros upon entry. To avoid customs charges, travelers must also declare luxury goods, jewellery, paintings and computer equipment. At the port of entry, travelers can ask customs officials for a currency declaration form that must be completed and presented at departure. Failure to comply with these policies may result in confiscation of funds/goods and criminal proceedings.

Special Travel Circumstances in Montenegro

Dual U.S.-Montenegrin nationals may be subject to laws that impose special obligations on Montenegrin citizens. If you were considered a dual citizen of Montenegro and another country before Montenegro declared its independence on June 3, 2006, Montenegro still recognizes that dual citizenship. If you became a dual citizen after June 3, 2006, Montenegro will only recognize your dual citizenship if it is with a country with which Montenegro has signed a bilateral agreement. Currently, Montenegro has signed a bilateral citizenship agreement only with Macedonia, but it still abides by the bilateral consular agreement between Yugoslavia and the United States. As of August 30, 2006, Montenegrin men are no longer required by Montenegrin law to perform military service.

There are occasional water and electricity outages throughout the year.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe