Is it safe to travel to Mongolia?

Travel Alert Status

Level 1: Exercise Normal Precautions

Travel Warnings

Reconsider Travel in Mongolia due to travel and transport restrictions related to Mongolia’s response to an outbreak in the neighboring People’s Republic of China of COVID-19.

On February 25, 2020, the Department of State allowed for the voluntary departure of non-emergency U.S. Government employees and their family members due to travel, transport, and other restrictions related to Mongolia’s response to an outbreak in the neighboring People’s Republic of China of COVID-19 (the “novel coronavirus,” also known as the disease caused by SARS-CoV-2).

There is an ongoing outbreak of COVID-19 in the People’s Republic of China, excluding the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau. The virus originated in Wuhan, Hubei Province, but cases have been confirmed throughout the People’s Republic of China and elsewhere in the region.

As of February 25, 2020, no COVID-19 cases have been found in Mongolia, but the country’s health system continues to be taxed by normal seasonal illnesses. Hospital capacity in the capital, Ulaanbaatar, continues to decrease, and travel restrictions may impede those people seeking medical evacuation. Travelers should consider these factors and their health before traveling to Mongolia and follow the Centers for Disease Control’s guidelines for the prevention of coronavirus if they decide to travel.

The Government of Mongolia has announced several precautionary measures, including:

Limiting flights in and out of Mongolia. All flights from the Republic of Korea (South Korea) are cancelled through at least March 2; all flights from the People’s Republic of China, including the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau; and, all flights from Taiwan, are cancelled until further notice.

Until further notice, foreign citizens who have transited the People’s Republic of China, including Hong Kong and Macau, or who have transited through Taiwan since January 1, 2020, including U.S. citizens, are prohibited from entering Mongolia.

Until at least February 27, 2020, all intra-provincial travel is prohibited.

All schools and institutions of higher learning are closed until March 30, 2020.

All public gatherings, events, and meetings, such as conferences, sporting events, and concerts, are prohibited.

School age children are prohibited from public locations such as restaurants and shopping malls.

Restaurants, bars, and other public locations are mandated to close at 12:00 AM.

Health officials have quarantined some Mongolian travelers returning from Wuhan, China and are actively screening passengers for COVID-19 symptoms at land borders, airports, and at inspection points on roads into the capital Ulaanbaatar.

If you travel to Mongolia, you should:

Have a plan to depart Mongolia which does not rely on U.S. government assistance.

Avoid contact with sick people.

Avoid touching your eyes, nose, or mouth with unwashed hands.

Safety and Security

There have been no significant acts of terrorism or extremism in Mongolia, and there are no regions of instability in the country. However, you are advised to avoid all protests, including political protests and street demonstrations that occur occasionally in Ulaanbaatar, since demonstrations may become violent at any time.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe