How to Enter Malawi

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

A passport, return ticket, and adequate funds are required for entry into Malawi. U.S. citizens traveling to Malawi for tourism, transit or business for 30 days or less can receive a visitor’s permit at the airports or border points of entry. The 30-day permit may be extended twice up to an additional 30 days each renewal prior to expiration. Currently, the Malawi Immigration Department is charging for all permit extensions as follows:

a. A 30-day visitor’s permit (or less) is granted at any port of entry and is free,

b. Application for a permit extension for an additional 30 days (or less) is MK 5,000.00 (Approx $15 U.S. dollars),

c. Application for a second permit extension for an additional 30 days (or less) is MK 5,000.00 (Approx $15 U.S. dollars),.

A permit extension application must be submitted prior to the permit’s expiration date. There is no guarantee the request will be granted.

U.S. citizens wishing to volunteer, study, conduct research or business for more than 90 days in Malawi are responsible for requesting the correct type of visa/permit from the Malawian Embassy or Consulate, prior to traveling to Malawi. There is no guarantee that requests for changing one's immigration category (e.g., from visitor permit or tourist visa to Temporary Employment Permit) will be granted. Foreign citizens whose primary purpose of travel is to participate in religious activities (voluntary or paid) should obtain a Temporary Employment Permit (TEP) rather than a visitor’s permit through their sponsoring organization or business.

Malawian immigration authorities have fined, arrested, and deported U.S. citizens who entered Malawi with a tourist visa or on a visitor’s permit and proceeded to conduct other activities inconsistent with their tourist status (e.g., business or volunteer services).

Occasionally, some airlines have required travelers to have a Malawian visa before boarding connecting flights in European airports. Malawian authorities confirmed in October 2011 that there is no requirement for obtaining a visitor’s permit for short stays (30 days or less) prior to arrival in Malawi.

U.S. citizens are reminded that they are subject to Malawi's laws. Individuals that overstay on their visa, even unknowingly, have been fined, arrested and deported. For additional information on entry requirements, contact the Embassy of the Republic of Malawi in Washington, D.C. 2408 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20008. You may also visit the Embassy of Malawi’s website. There is also a Malawi consulate in New York City.

According to Malawian law, travelers must declare all foreign currency when entering Malawi, regardless of its purpose or amount. Travelers should only exchange foreign currency at the bank or approved foreign exchange bureaus. Any currency declared at entry may be expatriated without further authorization. With bank approval, an individual may export up to USD $2000 per trip. Otherwise an individual is not permitted to expropriate currency and it will be confiscated at the point of departure.

Special Travel Circumstances in Malawi

Even in the most serene settings, wild animals can pose a threat to life and safety. Be sure to observe local or park regulations and heed all instructions given by tour guides.

Credit cards are not commonly accepted outside of major cities. There are a limited number of ATMs in Malawi that accept Visa, MasterCard and international ATM cards.

Dress codes against short skirts on women and long hair on men no longer exist, but travelers may wish to dress modestly, especially when visiting remote areas.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe