How to Enter Luxembourg

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

Luxembourg is a party to the Schengen Agreement. You may enter Luxembourg for up to 90 days for tourist or business purposes without a visa. Your passport should be valid for at least three months beyond the period of stay. You are required to have sufficient funds and a return airline ticket. For further details about travel into and within Schengen countries, please see our Schengen fact sheet. No immunizations are required.

If you plan to stay longer than three months, you must apply for a temporary-residence permit (“autorisation de séjour”') before entering Luxembourg. This permit, issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, applies to students, employees, self-employed persons, interns, research workers, and family members. If you apply for and receive a permit, it will be mailed to you. You will then have 90 days to enter Luxembourg. You must then register your arrival (“déclaration d'arrivée”) within three weekdays from your date of entry at the town office (“administration communale”) of your future place of residence. You must request your official residency card (“titre de séjour”) from the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs within three months of your arrival.

For additional information about entry requirements for Luxembourg, you can contact the Embassy of Luxembourg (2200 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20008; phone: (202) 265-4171 or -4172), or the Luxembourg Consulates General in New York (phone: (212) 888-6664) or San Francisco (phone: (415) 788-0816).

Visit the Embassy of Luxembourg website for the most current visa information.

Special Travel Circumstances in Luxembourg

Luxembourg customs authorities may enforce strict regulations on the temporary import or export of certain items into or out of Luxembourg. Such items may include live animals, plants, endangered species, medication (except for personal use), firearms and ammunition, cultural artifacts, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco products. Please contact the Embassy of Luxembourg in Washington or one of Luxembourg's consulates in the United States for specific information regarding customs requirements. You may travel with any amount of imported currency. The Euro is the official currency in Luxembourg.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe