What do people eat in Kuwait?


In Kuwaiti homes, foods from other Arab countries are commonly prepared. Favorites are "dolma", rolled vine leaves stuffed with flavored rice and meat, hummus, a ground chickpea mix, and tabbouleh, chopped parsley, tomato, onion and bulgur wheat. In addition, western style fast food is now easily available. It is especially popular among young Kuwaitis.

Kuwaitis usually eat a light breakfast. Their main meal of the day, lunch, consists of many different dishes presented at once to allow individual choice. Dessert is usually a variety of fruits or prepared sweets. Common drinks consumed with the meal are water, soft drinks and leban or diluted yogurt. Tea or coffee are served in a sitting room after the meal. Dinner is a small meal.

Kuwaitis abstain from pork or alcohol as Muslims are forbidden to consume such foods. Religious Kuwaitis are particularly attentive to these prohibitions and will not consume any prepared foods that contain pork by-products such as lard or pepsin. In addition, some of the more religious Kuwaitis will only eat meat and chicken that is slaughtered according to Islamic ritual practices. Meat of this type is called Halal.


Kuwaitis eat with the right hand. One should leave some food on the plate when finished eating otherwise it may get filled with more food. When the host stands, the meal is over.

Traditionally, Bedouin Arabs sit on the floor, eating from a communal platter using the fingers of the right hand. Most Kuwaiti homes have both western-style dining tables as well as traditional dining facilities. Many Kuwaitis still prefer to eat sitting at a low table, but are more likely to use individual plates, cutlery and napkins.

Popular Kuwait Recipes

Back to Kuwait Facts

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe