How to Enter Kosovo

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

U.S. citizens need a passport to enter Kosovo. No visa is required, but visitors may be asked to provide documentation stating the purpose of their visit. Generally, visitors entering Kosovo are permitted to stay for up to 90 days. Persons who wish to stay beyond 90 days will need to register with the Directorate for Migration and Foreigners in Pristina. If you intend to work, study, or remain longer than 90 days in Kosovo, you are required to contact the Directorate for Migration and Foreigners prior to your arrival in Kosovo to obtain information about requirements for visitors in these categories. The telephone numbers are (381) 38-200-190-26; (381) 38-200-190-27; (381) 38-200-190-17 or you can contact them by email. The Kosovo Ministry of Foreign Affairs website includes contact information for the Embassy of Kosovo in the United States, which can help you with additional information on how to apply for a residency permit.

The Law on Foreigners stipulates that a foreigner is obliged to present photo identification to prove his or her identity when asked by an authorized official. However, you do not have to carry an original passport with you at all times while in Kosovo.

Kosovo is an independent, sovereign country, but Serbia still considers it to be part of Serbia. As a consequence, Serbian border officials will prevent U.S. citizens from entering Serbia from Kosovo without first obtained a Serbian entry stamp from a Serbian point of entry that is not on the Kosovo-Serbia border. For example: if travelers enter Serbia from Belgrade airport, or neighboring Macedonia or Montenegro, and receive a Serbian entry stamp upon entry, they may travel through Serbia to Kosovo and then back into Serbia without difficulty; if they first enter Kosovo from a country other than Serbia, and then try to cross into Serbia from Kosovo, the Serbian authorities will not allow the traveler to enter Serbia. Serbia does not recognize entry stamps by Kosovar border authorities at Kosovar ports of entry, including Pristina Airport.

Special Travel Circumstances in Kosovo

At this time, U.S. Embassy Pristina provides only emergency services to U.S. citizens. U.S. Embassy Skopje, Macedonia, provides all routine consular services such as passport applications.

U.S. Embassy Skopje

Samoilova 21, 1000 Skopje, Macedonia

Telephone: (389) (2) 310-2000

Emergency after-hours telephone: (389) (2) 310-2000

Facsimile: (389) (2) 310-2299

Email address:

Tourist facilities are very limited in Kosovo.

Kosovo is a cash economy. The currency used throughout Kosovo is the euro. Banking services are available in Pristina and other major towns, although they are not fully developed. There are a number of banks with international ties that offer limited banking services, including ATMs, in Pristina and other major towns. If you need emergency funds from abroad, Western Union and MoneyGram have offices throughout Kosovo. While credit cards are accepted in larger stores and in some restaurants, we recommend having cash in local currency for purchases in small establishments.

Travelers entering Kosovo by air or land with more than 10,000 Euros in cash must declare all currency upon entry. Travelers must also obtain and complete a declaration form from the customs officials at the port of entry. This declaration form must be presented upon departure from Kosovo. Failure to comply may result in the confiscation of all funds.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe