How to Enter Equatorial Guinea

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

According the Government of Equatorial Guinea’s website, visas are not required for U.S. citizens, but they must fill out a visa application and present two passport photos and a letter of invitation from the visitor’s Equatoguinean employer or sponsor at the point of entry. In addition, a certification of vaccination for small pox, yellow fever, and cholera are required to enter Equatorial Guinea. In practice, U.S. citizens are rarely asked to provide either the above paperwork or proof of vaccination upon entrance.

Of the three vaccines listed, the CDC recommends only the yellow fever vaccination. Small pox and cholera vaccinations are generally not available in the United States. Immigration officials may bar entry into the country for those that cannot comply with the vaccination requirements. All other nationals must acquire a visa prior to arriving in country. It is extremely difficult to obtain a visa upon entry into Equatorial Guinea. U.S. citizens staying longer than 90 days should register with the local police station.

Private ships landing at an Equatoguinean port must get clearance prior to approaching the shore.

You can obtain the latest information and details from the Embassy of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, 2020 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009, telephone (202) 518-5700, fax (202) 518-5252.

Special Travel Circumstances in Equatorial Guinea

Official Corruption: It is not uncommon for a uniformed member of the security forces to stop motorists on the pretext of minor or nonexistent violations of the local motor vehicle regulations in order to extort small bribes. Visitors are advised not to pay bribes, and to request that the officer provide a citation to be paid at the local court or a receipt stating the violation, amount due, and the officer’s name. If a U.S. citizen visitor is asked to go to a police station or is held up at roadblocks for an extended period of time, he/she should contact the Embassy Duty Officer at 516-008 to report the situation.

Currency: Equatorial Guinea is almost exclusively a cash economy. The country has very few hotels that accept credit cards. Generally, credit cards and checks are not accepted, and credit card cash advances are not available. Most local businesses do not accept travelers' checks, dollars, or Euros. However, dollars can be exchanged at local banks for Central African Francs (CFA). Cash in CFA is usually the only form of payment accepted throughout the country.

Photography: In the recent past a special permit from the Ministry of Information and Tourism (or from the local delegation if outside Malabo) was required for virtually all types of photography. This law changed, but many police or security officials may still attempt to impose a fine on people taking photographs. It is still forbidden to take photos of the Presidential Palace and its surroundings, military installations, airports, harbors, government buildings and any other area deemed sensitive by the local government. Police and security officials may attempt to take a violator into custody, or seize the camera of persons photographing in the country.

Unusual Customs: Possession of camouflage-patterned clothing, large knives, binoculars, firearms, walkie-talkies, or radios, and a variety of other items may be deemed suspicious by the security forces, and grounds for confiscation of the item(s) and detention of the carrier.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe