Denmark Geography

What is the terrain and geography like in Denmark?


Denmark proper consists of the Jutland Peninsula and 406 islands, of which 79 are inhabited. The straits between these islands connect the Baltic and the North Seas.

Greenland and the Faroe Islands, although self‑governing, are parts of Denmark. Greenland, the largest island in the world, is geographically part of North America.

For many years, Denmark has been regarded traditionally as an agricultural country. However, dramatic changes have occurred in recent years, and today only about 3% of the population is employed in agriculture and fishing.

The coastline is irregular and dotted with inlets, breaks, gently sloping fjords, and impressive cliffs. About 10% of the country is covered by woodland, including commercial forests. The public has access, as a right, to all the beaches in the country, including right of passage along privately owned shore.

Geography - note

controls Danish Straits (Skagerrak and Kattegat) linking Baltic and North Seas; about one-quarter of the population lives in greater Copenhagen

Denmark Use of Natural Resources

Geographic Location Europe
Total Area 16,639 Square Miles
43,094 Square Kilometers
Land Area 16,384 Square Miles
42,434 Square Kilometers
Water Area 255 Square Miles
660 Square Kilometers
Land Boundaries 42 Miles
68 Kilometers
Irrigated Land 1,681 Square Miles
4,354 Square Kilometers
Border Countries Germany 68 km
Coastline 4,545 Miles
7,314 Kilometers
Geographic Coordinates 56 00 N, 10 00 E
Terrain low and flat to gently rolling plains
Highest Point 173 Meters
Highest Point Location Yding Skovhoej 173 m
Lowest Point -7 Meters
Lowest Point Location Lammefjord -7 m
Natural Resources petroleum, natural gas, fish, salt, limestone, chalk, stone, gravel and sand
Time Zone UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Daylight saving time +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October; note - applies to continental Denmark only, not to its North Atlantic components
All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe