Anguilla Government

What is the capital of Anguilla?

Country Name Anguilla
Full Country Name None
Etymology- history of name The name Anguilla means "eel" in various Romance languages (Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, French) and likely derives from the island's lengthy shape.
Government Type Parliamentary democracy (House of Assembly); self-governing overseas territory of the UK.
Capital Name The Valley
Capital - geographic coordinate 18 13 N, 63 03 W
Capital Time Difference UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Independence None (overseas territory of the UK)
National Holiday Anguilla Day, 30 May (1967)
Constitution Several previous; latest 1 April 1982; amended 1990
Dependency Status Overseas territory of the UK

Anguilla Capital City Map

Source: Google Maps

Anguilla Government and Politics

Who is the president of Anguilla?

Executive Branch: Chief of State: King Charles Philip Arthur George III (Since 8 September 2022) previous Queen ELIZABETH II (6 February 1952 - 8 September 2022) ; represented by Governor Tim FOY (since August 2017)

Head of Government: Chief Minister Victor BANKS (since 23 April 2015)

Cabinet: Executive Council appointed by the governor from among elected members of the House of Assembly

Elections/Appointments: The monarchy is hereditary; the governor is appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition usually appointed chief minister by the governor
Citizenship Criteria: See United Kingdom
Legal System: Common law based on the English model
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Legislative Branch: Description: Unicameral House of Assembly (11 seats; 7 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 2 appointed by the governor, and 2 ex officio members - the attorney general and deputy governor; members serve five-year terms)

Elections: Last held on 22 April 2015 (next to be held in 2020)

Election Results: Percent of vote by party - AUF 54.4%, AUM 38.3%, DOVE 1.4%, independent 5.9%; seats by party - AUF 6, independent 1; composition - men 8, women 3, percent of women 27.3%
Judicial Branch: Highest Court(s): The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) is the superior court of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States; the ECSC - headquartered on St. Lucia - consists of the Court of Appeal - headed by the chief justice and 4 judges - and the High Court with 18 judges; the Court of Appeal is itinerant, traveling to member states on a schedule to hear appeals from the High Court and subordinate courts; High Court judges reside in the member states, though none on Anguilla

Judge Selection and Term of Office: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court chief justice appointed by Her Majesty, Queen ELIZABETH II; other justices and judges appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission; Court of Appeal justices appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 65; High Court judges appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 62

Subordinate Courts: Magistrate's Court; Juvenile Court
Regions or States: None (overseas territory of the UK)
Political Parties and Leaders: Anguilla Democratic Party or ADP

Anguilla National Alliance or ANA

Anguilla United Front or AUF [Victor BANKS] (an alliance ADP and ANA)

Anguilla United Movement or AUM [Dr. Ellis WEBSTER]

Democracy, Opportunity, Vision, and Empowerment Party or DOVE [Sutcliffe HODGE]
International Organization Participation: Caricom (associate), CDB, Interpol (subbureau), OECS, UNESCO (associate), UPU
Diplomatic Representation in the US: None (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic Representation from US: None (overseas territory of the UK)
All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe