How to Enter Albania

Do I need a passport or visa to enter?

Entry into the Republic of Albania takes place at a port of entry (Tirana International Airport, seaports, or land border crossing points). U.S. citizens do not need visas to enter the Republic of Albania. You must have a passport valid for at least three months from the date of entry into Albania. Your passport is stamped upon entry with the date of arrival by the Border and Migration Police (BMP).

Upon entering the Republic of Albania, you may stay for up to one year without applying for a Residency Permit. It is important to check that the BMP officer has stamped and entered the date correctly in your passport at the time of entry. If you depart Albania during the one-year period or after a one-year stay, you must remain outside the country for three months or more to “restart the clock.” After you have been outside of Albania for at least three months you may re-enter and stay in Albania for a new one-year period without having to apply for a Residency Permit.

If you intend to remain in Albania for longer than one year, you must apply for a Residency Permit at the office of the Regional Directorate of Border and Migration Police having jurisdiction over your place of residence. Visit the Embassy of Albania website for information on how to apply for a Residency Permit and for the most current visa information.

The U.S. Department of State is unaware of any HIV/AIDS entry restrictions for visitors to or foreign residents of Albania.

Special Travel Circumstances in Albania

Albania's customs authorities may enforce strict regulations concerning temporary importation into or export from Albania of some items. We suggest that you contact the Embassy of Albania in Washington, D.C., or one of Albania's Consulates in the United States for specific information regarding customs requirements.

The Albanian government considers any person in Albania who has at least one Albanian parent to be an Albanian citizen. In addition to being subject to all Albanian laws affecting U.S. citizens, dual nationals may be subject to Albanian laws that impose special obligations such as military conscription. To read more about the Albanian Military Service, which is only available in Albanian, visit the website of the Albanian Ministry of Defence. See also additional information pertaining to dual nationality.

Albania is a cash economy. Credit cards are generally accepted only at major hotels in Tirana, large department/grocery stores, upscale restaurants, and some international airline offices. Travelers' checks are not widely used but can be changed at banks in larger towns or cities. ATMs are widely available in Tirana and in larger towns.


You are responsible for ensuring that you meet and comply with foreign entry requirements, and health requirements and that you possess the appropriate travel documents. Information provided is subject to change without notice. One should confirm content prior to traveling from other reliable sources. Information published on this website may contain errors. You travel at your own risk and no warranties or guarantees are provided by us.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Eswatini Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Macedonia Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States (US) Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe