Peru Interesting Facts

  • An important day on a Native Peruvian's calendar is November 2, the Day of the Dead, when spirits are believed to walk the earth again, visiting their relatives.
  • For Peruvians an evening of socializing often includes lively music and salsa dancing.
  • Peru has the world's highest navigable body of water. Lake Titicaca is 3800 meters above sea level.
  • Peru is considered to be the archeological capital of South America. The Lost City of the Incas, called Machu Picchu, is located in the Andes Mountains. It is called lost because the Incas abandoned it and the city remained unknown to explorers for several centuries.
  • Peruvians will offer you an item enthusiastically if you admire it and might be offended if you don't accept it.
  • Several English words actually derive from Quechua, including the following: alpaca, condor, gaucho, jerky, lima (as in the lima bean), llama, pampa, puma, quinine, quinoa and vicuna.
  • The Andean cultures have produced their own oral tradition of Quechuan jokes with elaborate beginnings.
  • The Andes have more people living in them than any other mountain range in the world. The highest home in the world is a shepherd's hut in the Andes at 17,000 feet (5,180meters)
  • The infant mortality rate of 80 per 1000 live births ranks among the highest in South America. One in ten children will not survive to age five.
  • The Roman Catholicism of the Spaniards and the Native Peruvian belief in many gods combined to produce a mixture of Roman Catholic and Native rituals.
  • The world's largest canyon is in Colca Canyon. The depth is 11,00 feet and it is 37.3 miles long.

Peru Lost Tooth Traditions

At night a child must place a tooth in their shoes so

that a mouse takes it and a member of the family must

leave a gift for them in the morning before the child wakes up. So they will believe that the mouse left the gift.

All Countries
Afghanistan Akrotiri Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia, The Gaza Strip Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Jan Mayen Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Sudan, South Suriname Svalbard Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank Western Sahara World Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe