Argentina Religion

Argentina Religion: The Argentine Constitution states that the federal government "sustains the apostolic Roman Catholic faith," and the government provides the Catholic Church with a variety of subsidies. The Secretariat of Worship in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Trade, and Worship is responsible for conducting the government's relations with the Catholic Church, all non-Catholic Christian churches, and other religious organizations in the country.

The Secretariat of Worship maintains a National Registry of approximately 2,800 religious organizations representing some 30 different denominations, including most of the world's major faiths.

While Christians typically enjoy vacation days for significant Christian holidays, the law also provides for three days of excused and paid leave for those observing the Jewish holy days (New Year, the Days of Atonement, and Passover) and certain Islamic holy days.

In late 2002, a gubernatorial candidacy brought to light that the oath of office of the Province of Tucuman provided for the governor to swear on the "Holy Gospels." A legal challenge to the provision resulted in a provincial Supreme Court ruling that the governor could instead swear by "God and the Fatherland," thereby opening the oath to people of all religions.

Back to: Argentina Facts

All Countries